Bear with me

Ok so I am not new to blogging…I have a tumblr (which is mostly pictures…feel free to follow at jmacabee.tumblr.com) and I set up a blogspot when I went abroad (more about that later…follow that one at jmacabee.blogspot.com) but this is my first wordpress account.  Lately, I have been reading more and more health blogs while I struggle to get back into shape, and I decided start one for my journey to better living.  But before I get ahead of myself…

A little bit about me. I was born in Topeka, KS but raised in Hingham, MA, just south of Boston.  I grew up an active kid; you name it, I did it.  Basketball, soccer, ballet, skiing, golf, tennis, even karate.  While I did not stick  with all those once middle school started, I was committed to ballet, skiing, and tennis. I even tried out for the soccer team in freshman year of high school and made it! But 7th grade was when everything went downhill.  I started gaining weight despite still being active.  My parents were adamant about eating a healthy diet, but I wanted junk food: spaghettios, lunchables, chips, soda, you name it.  I was young and didn’t know the long term affects those types of food had on my body. My parents said no at first, but because I am a virgo I am very willful and refused to stop until I got my way.  There is so much I wish I could take back growing up because I am still living with the mistakes I made 10 years ago.  High school was a horror story for me looking back.  I was not teased or bullied but I was so uncomfortable with my body.  I tried losing weight, but I couldn’t give up the foods I loved.  College was different, I was eating healthier despite horrible dining hall conditions and I felt more comfortable in my skin.  Insert study abroad in the spring of junior year.

I studied abroad in Bath, England, which was both the best and worst experience of my life.  Its hard for me to adapt to change (I again blame my zodiac sign) and I didn’t know a soul in a foreign country.  One might say going abroad is just like going to college.  For me, however, going to Saint Mikes was like going home.  I fell in love the moment I stepped on campus when I visited junior year of high school and immediately knew I was going there, no matter what.  But I had never been to England and had no idea what to expect.  Enter Linley house.  I lived in a house with 8 girls.  I know, it was kind of a nightmare.  At first everything was great and we all got along really well.  Come March, there began to be a divide in the house and I felt really uncomfortable.  A few of my housemates were really into fitness and healthy eating and I do not blame them in the least for that.  Everyone should be active and eat well.  They took it to a whole different level, though.  I felt I was being judged when I indulged in a bowl of ice-cream or drank beer instead of gin and tonics (supposedly the “skinny girl” drink).  Most of this was probably on my shoulders and I was too hard on myself, but I have never been more uncomfortable with my body than I was then. When I came home in May, I knew something had to change.

Enter summer. I was doing really well going to the gym and eating healthy and I had a goal to train for a 5k. High hopes for a girl who has hated running since high school but I was determined. Things went downhill when I started working every day, all day and barely had time to go to the gym and was eating out more.

Long story short: I started this blog for a variety of reasons, but I needed a place to vent, write things down, and enter a community of support. Please help me on my journey to being a better person, inside and out!

About Jenna

I am a 21 year old senior at Saint Michael's College in Colchester, VT and this is my blog on my journey to being a better person, inside and out.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

