Back to Normalcy

What a weekend. After having so many struggles, whether it was stress with academics, work, or food, I am glad to be feeling much better. I am more confident in my abilities to tackle this test, I am a good employee at work, and I am learning not to overeat and make healthy eating choices.

Making healthy eating choices is definitely a test for me.  When I am at work, I get so hungry, and having a 50% discount at the restaurant on the course does not help.  I can even work my magic and get free hotdogs and burgers at the snack shack, located after the 9th hole, right across from my office.

Its hard for me to make healthy choices when delicious  unhealthy options are so readily available. I’m not always going to be able to cook at home; I have to adjust for work and social activities, but  its definitely something I struggle with.  I want to eat fries and buffalo chicken wraps (my favorite), and I know how to make them in a healthy way at home, but I know they are not as healthy buying them out. Its something I have to learn, and its going to take a lot of practice and discipline, but its not going to happen overnight.   I know its okay to indulge in moderation, but even doing that makes me feel guilty.  A lot of that stems from my living situation abroad.  I felt judged so hard if I made mashed potatoes with my chicken for dinner, drinking beer, or having a digestive (aka the best cookies in the world) as a late night snack.  I know it was both of our faults; I could have eaten better, but they could have not been so bitchy judgmental. But hey, we’re all learning here.

Today will be a great day. I am having lunch with an old high school friend I haven’t seen all summer because she has been living in D.C, then its back to teaching clinics and hitting up the gym after.  It will be a good day.

 

 

About Jenna

I am a 21 year old senior at Saint Michael's College in Colchester, VT and this is my blog on my journey to being a better person, inside and out.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Back to Normalcy

  1. doo doo doo i miss you. so freaking excited. I think moderation is something you are wonderful at and don’t let crazy people tell you that you arn’t. if i were you i totally would take advantage of that discount. I think it is all about fueling your body for those killer workouts you do and enjoying life. this is probably one of your last summers at home – crazy right? we all need delicious food in our life, i have it everyday!

  2. aww glad to see you’re having a positive outlook on today 🙂 Work and school is always a challenge.. I know for me it was hard, but it’s definitely all about managing your time. Unhealthy options are too available for us– I know for me what works is I always bring my own lunch– I actually have that dorky pack-it lunch box I bring to work lol get made fun of all the time, but it works!! 🙂 Enjoy your time with your friend!!!

    • Jenna says:

      Thanks Rachel 🙂 Things are looking up! Its hard with my long shifts because i’m there from 12:30 to usually 8 or 8:30 pm so I have to plan for 2 meals and snacks if needed, which is when the restaurant comes in handy.

  3. I know what you mean about trying to stick to a certain eating plan when there’s a bunch of things trying to get you to veer of the plan, even if it’s just a little bit. I also know what you mean about beating yourself up, even after just having a little. It’s tough, but in time, I’m sure you’ll find a balance. I also agree with Rachel Elizabeth, if possible bring a lunch, that’s what I do at school 🙂

    • Jenna says:

      Thanks Jaqueline! Its tough veering off course for sure, but its all about getting back on track 🙂 Its always hard with work because I need to plan for lunch AND dinner (womp womp) but its only for 2 more shifts so everything will be normal once I go back to school 🙂

Leave a Reply

