Breathing a Sigh of Relief

Its OVER! Thank you Jesus. The Praxis II: Social Studies Content and Interpretation is probably the hardest exam I’ve ever taken.  I actually almost started laughing at the ridiculousness of some of the questions.  But its over! I did it! I find out results in 4-6 weeks but as of right now I’m not even worrying about that. Theres nothing I can do now about the results so its time to enjoy the rest of my summer!

After the exam, Dad and I went out to lunch at a restaurant called Sunset Cochina and I treated myself to a margarita. Hey, I deserved one.

And a blackened chicken quesidilla….which I could only eat half of but was delicious nonetheless.

It was off to Trader Joe’s in Brookline to buy wine and deliciousness. I finally bought Cookie Butter….and now understand the hype.  This stuff is seriously the stuff of magic.

After a long, hot drive with no AC, I dropped by Barnes&Noble to do some book shopping, aka the best kind of shopping.  I bought Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn so I can participate in PBF’s book club this month!  I also purchased The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.  I’m always one who buys too many books and has too many on my plate but hey I love the books.

I then got a surprise visit from this gem: (don’t hate me)

 

Its always so nice to catch up, no matter how brief the visit is.  Summers were always spent with our families spending days at the beach, starting at 10am and staying until 7pm and making mud castles (usually on each other) and practicing our less than stellar gymnastics.  This was the first summer they haven’t been home for the summer and it has been so strange…but I’m so happy I get at least a day or two 🙂

 

After our brief visit, I chowed down some leftover chinese food and put on Rosie’s leash for a late night run.  She did great, besides her need to stop at EVERY tree to sniff.  She also has little legs so my pace was much slower but it was a relaxing end to a much needed day.

 

On a more serious note, I think something is seriously wrong with my ankles.  I pushed through my run last night because my pace was so slow, but this morning when I attempted a normal run, I couldn’t even make it past the half mile mark.  It was so painful.  I have iced, taken painkillers, etc but nothing seems to be working and they are as swollen/painful as ever.  I have my back-to-school physical next week so I am going to mention something to my doctor but its so frustrating.  I have made excuses in the past as to why I couldn’t run, but now when I am finally pushing past those excuses something has to actually stand in my way.  Its so frustrating, but I am hoping nothing is seriously wrong with them.  Stupid joints.

What do you recommend for painful joints? 

About Jenna

I am a 21 year old senior at Saint Michael's College in Colchester, VT and this is my blog on my journey to being a better person, inside and out.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Breathing a Sigh of Relief

  1. livepassionatelytonight says:

    Take a break! If it’s really bothering you, don’t push yourself. Rest and take it easy until you can see a doctor. That margarita looks fab 🙂

  2. yay for being done with your test! Now you can relax 🙂 Hmmm painful joints.. I don’t have too much experience there, but when I twisted my ankle last year, I went to CVS and got a little “boot” to kinda hold it in place- I would try that or wrapping it with a bandage.

    • Jenna says:

      I need relax time so much! And I’ve been thinking of getting an ace bandage or maybe buying icy-hots? My dad uses them the first few (painful) weeks of ski season so I might give them a try! thanks for the suggestions 🙂

  3. Yay I agree with all the above, stop running for a while. Ankle stuff shouldn’t be messed with. You had to use that picture didn’t you. You kill me. Also, I want a mojito. badly. why can’t I be home longer to be with you?

Leave a Reply

