Resisting Temptation

I don’t know about you guys, but cravings are my weakness.  And its not like we ever crave healthy things.  “Oh my God I’m craving flax seeds soooo badly.” Nope. Doesn’t work that way.  I feel like a rabbit when I eat that.  Whether its something sweet or salty that we crave, I know for me, as I have said before, carbs are my weakness.  I usually eat Greek yogurt or cereal for breakfast, but that has not always been the case.  In high school I would get a bagel for breakfast 2 or 3 times a week.  I can eat an entire box of Annie’s Mac&Cheese in a sitting (not that I’m proud).  I love everything carb related.  Which is why its so hard to resist the temptation.  The other morning I woke up absolutely craving an everything bagel with veggie cream cheese.  I had plenty of yogurt and fruit in the fridge, but I wanted one so badly. My dad was the one who provided the harsh reality that I have been doing so well, I don’t want to fall back into my old routines. I ended up getting so mad at him, mostly because I knew he was true.  I know having something you want on occasion and in moderation but I just want to stay on track and figure out how to eat what I want while still being healthy.  I feel like that’s an oxymoron.

While I’m not sure I was ever a “binge” eater, I definitely had my moments when I ate an entire bag of goldfish or an entire pint of Ben&Jerry’s.  Sometimes I felt guilty after, and sometimes I didn’t.  I had my moments abroad when I would microwave mashed potatoes and chicken just because it was easy.  I didn’t want to take up any more room in our tiny kitchen than was absolutely necessary.

See? Teeny. Tiny. Supposed to accommodate 8 girls. Yeah right.

I guess the moral of this story is I know how to control portions but I hate having those cravings and knowing I can’t eat what I want.  Why do foods that taste so good have to be so bad for you?

Anyways, this morning’s workout was great, despite the whole no running thing.  I did the elliptical for 15 minutes and did the rowing machine for another 10 with some leg and ab strength training after.  It felt great to be back rowing; I did crew freshman and sophomore year oh high school and it was a great work out.

How do you control cravings? Indulge or maintain will-power?

About Jenna

I am a 21 year old senior at Saint Michael's College in Colchester, VT and this is my blog on my journey to being a better person, inside and out.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Resisting Temptation

  1. I usually give into my cravings lol If I don’t I just keep thinking about it– although I do try to stay away from chocolate because I’m addicted lol

  2. I have to agree with Rachel, I think it is better to give into cravings or else they get bigger and then enter the dreaded overeating cycle. Once and a while, even three times a week a bagel isn’t bad. It’s breakfast, fuel for the day!

  3. livepassionatelytonight says:

    I can’t control cravings and I have NO will-power. I need help, too! haha

  4. maralb2010 says:

    I’m wearing the same exact outfit right now that was in that picture. (the sweatshirt/yoga pants sexy combo).
    Also, let me know how your ankles are feeling!

Leave a Reply

