Exciting Things This Way Come

Well its that time of year again: back to school time! Its baffling to me that this is the last time I will move in as an undergrad; my last 2 semesters at Saint Mikes.  I know it is going to fly by so fast, especially because I am so busy all the time, but I really want to make the best of it and enjoy everything.

Here are some exciting things that will be happening in the next few weeks.

  • I cannot wait to move in to my TownHouse! At Saint Mikes, we live on campus all 4 years because there are only 2,000 undergrads and it really keeps the community on campus.  Seniors live in TownHouses, complete with a full kitchen, bathroom, and, in my case, 4 single rooms. Some have doubles, but we lucked out and all got singles.  I think we will have a really good year, and I am just ready to move in and get settled.
  • It sounds strange, but I am really excited for classes to start again.  I know I am going to regret those words about halfway through the semester, but it is my last semester actually taking classes because I am student teaching in the Spring and it is definitely going to be bittersweet.  I am taking 18 credits which will be a killer but I am ready.  What will I be taking, you ask? Well, I am taking 3 history classes and 2 education classes, including my History Senior Seminar (40 page thesis; I am writing on the causes of WWI that led to WWII…such a nerd), a class on World War II in Europe, the Modern Middle East, a class on Curriculum where I will be creating my own unit, and Approaches to Teaching Humanities.  Woof. Sounds fun, right?
  • Singing with the Bella’s! I miss singing so much, and I love my a cappella group. We are all female and get along so well.  I am excited to tackle some new, more difficult songs with them and get some fresh meat in.

 

  • Cooking in my own kitchen.  I am so excited to try out new recipes and not rely on the dining hall for “food” ( I wouldn’t consider everything there actual food..) but I am nervous about staying on a budget while still eating healthy.  The college ramen diet is not a myth.  I have always struggled with creating a budget and sticking to it.  Hey, I like eating out and I love my dunkin iced.  I have worked hard this summer for my money, and I want to make it last, but the college lifestyle is in a category of its own. We will see what happens…
  • I am just so excited for everything that comes with being a college student.  When I went abroad, I didn’t feel the same as I do when I study at Saint Mikes.  I missed the late night study sessions in the student center, spending more time in the library than in my own living space, ordering late-night drunk wings, hungover brunches, etc.

 

College is a once in a lifetime experience, and I am so jealous of incoming freshman who get to experience everything for the first time.

 

What exciting things are coming your way soon?

About Jenna

I am a 21 year old senior at Saint Michael's College in Colchester, VT and this is my blog on my journey to being a better person, inside and out.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Exciting Things This Way Come

  1. woot you are so close. this place sounds great and I am super excited for you. i want to live through you this next year. the modern middle east class sounds awesome, but girl you have your hands full with 18 credits.

    • ps do you think you will still blog?

      • Jenna says:

        you should come visit for a weekend! theres an airport in bvt!! and i know…it will be a tough semester for sure. thankfully one is only 2 credits but will still be a lot of work 😦 and i’m hoping to still blog!! we will see with my full plate but i hope to keep it up and running 🙂

  2. aww college is so fun 🙂 It goes by so quickly too– enjoy it 🙂 that’s awesome that you sing! My friend used to do that in college (she went to Ithaca in NY)

  3. livepassionatelytonight says:

    So many things for you to look forward to!

  4. So fun! I loved Senior year of college. I’m jealous of all your history classes– those were my favorite in collge and I learned so much! And will be so nice to have a kitchen. Ahhh, the real world is not as fun and I wish I could go back– haha 🙂

    • Jenna says:

      i love being a history major! theres so much reading but I usually find all of it interesting which helps. A full kitchen will be my saving grace for sure 🙂 I know I will miss it SO much when i leave 😦

Leave a Reply

