The Brain is a Powerful Thing

I’ve been thinking about what I want to write about for my next post for a while, and after last night, I realized I wanted to write on the silly part of our body called the brain.  Yes, the brain can do awesome things and is so intricate and complex, but it can also be our own worst enemy.  Example: I over think. Everything.  Hey, I’m a girl, its what we do.  But I can’t seem to control it.  I can’t control my thoughts.  They run ramped; they keep me up into the late hours of the night.  Whether it concerns food, choices I made and wish I hadn’t, or relationships, I over think every action I took or will take concerning a specific thing.  Its really stupid, actually and always leads to me ruining something, namely relationships.

In the past, my overthinking has led to conflict within relationships.  It causes me to either move to fast or analyze things that in no way need to be analyzed.  I don’t know how to just “go with the flow” and “whatever happens happens”.  My  brain just doesn’t work that way.  I just wish it would.  It sure would save me a whole lot of hassel.  I just wish I was psychic so I could know what everyone was thinking.  

Over thinking also interferes with my body and food intake.  I can be so OCD about what I eat or what I did eat and how it will affect my day to day life, which, in reality, it shouldn’t.  It causes me to compare myself to others and think “oh well if I changed this or did that I could be like that.”  It sounds silly and juvenile, but I just can’t get my thoughts out of my head. Wow, that sounded even sillier.

Anyways, yesterday was a normal day of Snag Golf Camp, targeted at ages 5 and 6 so the kids were really cute and distracted me from the nagging voices inside my head.  I had my second to last ladies clinic last night.  Today is my day off, so I’m thinking of reading more of Gone Girl and watching Laguna Beach on MTV all day.  Riddle me if I care that is 80 degrees and sunny outside.

How do you keep negative thoughts from entering your head? 

About Jenna

I am a 21 year old senior at Saint Michael's College in Colchester, VT and this is my blog on my journey to being a better person, inside and out.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Brain is a Powerful Thing

  1. livepassionatelytonight says:

    That does not sound silly or juvenile at ALL. I feel like that every single day. It’s like, why can’t my brain just be normal like other people’s and not care about food? Why can’t I just eat when I’m hungry and be done with it? Why do those thoughts need to consume my life? I don’t understand it and probably never will. All I can do is try to ignore those negative thoughts.

  2. I am an overthinker also, you can tell from my past it got me no where. It made me obsessive and unhappy and just not living life. I always remind myself I don’t just want to survive I want to thrive. Overthinking hinders that.

Leave a Reply

