Woah, That Girl Is Gone.

I mentioned a few days ago that I was reading Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, and I finally finished it the other day. Now I don’t want to sound pretentious, but I tend to consider myself a book connoisseur. I devour books like its my job. “Some books should be tasted, some devoured, but only a few should be chewed and digested thoroughly.”
― Cornelia FunkeInkheart.  Well, I am still in the devouring stage.  Books are my escape.  When I am low, unhappy, or downright depressed, I go to books.  Thats probably why I read about 15 when I was abroad.  2 semesters ago, I wrote a 7 page paper on my literary autobiography and how the Harry Potter series impacted my life in the way it did. Reading has had an enormous shaping me as a woman.  I have had countless adventures in many different lands, such as Narnia, Middle-Earth, Neverland, Wonderland, and Hogwarts.  For as long as I can remember, I have had a book in my hand. My crib when I was a baby was not limited to mobiles and stuffed toys, but picture books as well. I was reading and learning the alphabet by age three. I would fall asleep to books on tape in my nursery rather than the soothing sounds of rain forests or the ocean or whatever normal babys fall asleep to.

Anyways, Gone Girl kept my interest the ENTIRE time, which is difficult to do in some cases.  I have the books I am comfortable with, like Patterson or Sarah Dessen novels.  I kind of jumped on the Gone Girl bandwagon, but I wanted to see what all of the hype was about.  Well, this book was full of twists and turns and kept me intrigued the whole time. Definitely a page turner. The basic premises is Amy, who is married to Nick, mysteriously disappeared on their 5 year wedding anniversary.  As evidence is produced, the spotlight is turned to Nick as the primary suspect.  It is definitely a psychological “thriller” (I wouldn’t go so far as to say thriller because it is not gruesome or gory, but definitely is suspenseful and gets you thinking).  I read this book in 5 days and it grabbed me from the first page.  I definitely recommend this book!! Read it. Now.

Whats your favorite type of book to read? Are you an avid reader?

About Jenna

I am a 21 year old senior at Saint Michael's College in Colchester, VT and this is my blog on my journey to being a better person, inside and out.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Woah, That Girl Is Gone.

  1. oh gosh I need to read this. I keep seeing it but I needed a little push. Let’s hope I can find it at a library around here.

    • Jenna says:

      im sure they will, but the hold wait is probably long…i bought it on sale at barnes and noble so i can send it down when barb visits in september!!

Leave a Reply

